Monument record TQ 95 SE 121 - Throwley Airfield

Summary

The site of the First World War airfield of Throwley. Established in late 1916 by the Royal Flying Corps the airfield was in active service until early 1919.The site covered 87 acres and initially had few facilities including some tents and other buildings. Later, in 1918, the airfield developed to contain a number of Bessonneau hangars, various technical buildings and aircraft hangars as well as a hutted camp for accommodation.Initially opened as the Royal Flying Corps took up the role of home defence, the airfield was the base for a number of BE2Cs of "C" Flight, part of 50 Squadron. This was the main Home Defence unit in this area of Kent. In 1917 this Flight was joined by 112 Squadron which became the main unit based at Throwley. It operated a number of Sopwith Pups, Camels and Snipes. These aircraft actively participated in combating German bombers, though with limited success. In February 1918 143 Squadron was formed from 112 Squadron which flew Armstrong Whitworth FK8s, before moving to Detling airfield. Throwley then had a training role with the arrival of 188 (Night) Training Squadron (operating Sopwith Pups and Camels) which stayed at the airfield until spring 1919 when the base was abandoned.Throwley was transferred to the Ministry of Munitions in October 1919 but there is no record of whether it was used. The site was abandoned and returned to cultivation. However in 1940 the same area was allocated as an emergency landing ground and dispersal field for Detling airfield, but again it is not known whether it was in fact used.Today (2009) very little remains of the site except for the Officers' Mess (at Bells Forstal Farm) and the Guardroom.

Location

Grid reference TQ 9910 5350 (point)
Map sheet TQ95SE
County KENT
District SWALE, KENT
Civil Parish THROWLEY, SWALE, KENT

Map

Type and Period (4)

Full Description

The site of the First World War airfield of Throwley. Established in late 1916 by the Royal Flying Corps the airfield was in active service until early 1919.
The site covered 87 acres and initially had few facilities including some tents and other buildings. Later, in 1918, the airfield developed to contain a number of Bessonneau hangars, various technical buildings and other aircraft hangars as well as a hutted camp for accommodation.
Initially opened as the Royal Flying Corps took up the role of home defence the airfield was the base for a number of BE2Cs of "C" Flight, part of Number 50 Squadron. This was the main Home Defence unit in this area of Kent. In 1917 this Flight was joined by Number 112 Squadron which became the main unit based at Throwley and which operated a number of Sopwith Pups, Camels and Snipes. These aircraft actively participated in combating German bombers, though with limited success. In February 1918 Number 143 Squadron was formed from Number 112 Squadron which flew Armstrong Whitworth FK8s, before moving to Detling airfield. Throwley then had a training role with the arrival of Number 188 (Night) Training Squadron (operating Sopwith Pups and Camels) which stayed at the airfield until spring 1919 when the base was abandoned.
Throwley was transferred to the Ministry of Munitions in October 1919 but there is no record of whether it was used. The site was abandoned and returned to cultivation, however in 1940 the same area was allocated as an emergency landing ground and dispersal field for Detling airfield but again it may not in fact have been used as such. (1)

The airfield was situated between Bells Forstal and Throwley Forstal and today very little remains of the site except for the Officers' Mess (at Bells Forstal Farm) and the Guardroom. The airfield initially contained tented accommodation and canvass hangars but later more permanent buildings were erected in Dodds Willows. The main airplanes based at Throwley were Sopwith Pups and Camels and some pilots were killed. Two are buried at Throwley Churchyard.
The Parish register shows that some pilots and personnel married into local families. After the airfield was disbanded the site returned to agriculture but the camp hall was used until 1973 by the village.
The source contains photographs of the site today, including the officers' mess and the grave yard of Throwley Church. (2)


<1> 2005, THE MILITARY AIRFIELDS OF BRITAIN; SOUTHERN ENGLAND, KENT, HAMPSHIRE, SURREY AND SUSSEX (Unspecified Type). SWX21105.

<2> Peter Higginbotham, 2000, The Workhouse (Website). SKE56079.

Sources/Archives (2)

  • <1> (No record type): 2005. THE MILITARY AIRFIELDS OF BRITAIN; SOUTHERN ENGLAND, KENT, HAMPSHIRE, SURREY AND SUSSEX.
  • <2> Website: Peter Higginbotham. 2000. The Workhouse.

Finds (0)

Protected Status/Designation

  • None recorded

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (0)

Record last edited

Feb 10 2026 4:04PM