Monument record TQ 77 NE 1360 - ?Post-medieval stock refuge mound, Cliffe

Summary

The earthwork remains of a small oval mound thought to be an example of a 19th century or earlier stock refuge mound constructed on low-lying pasture within the marshlands of the Hoo Peninsula and the margins of the Thames Estuary. This mound is one of four located in a single former field at the southern end of which a 19th century sheepfold has been noted on 1st, 2nd and 3rd edition Ordnance Survey 1:2500 scale maps.The mounds were mapped from RAF 1952 aerial photographs as part of the English Heritage: Hoo Peninsula Landscape Project. Since being photographed in 1952 this mound has been destroyed through clay quarrying for the local cement industry.

Location

Grid reference Not recorded
Map sheet Not recorded
County KENT
Civil Parish CLIFFE AND CLIFFE WOODS, MEDWAY, KENT
Unitary Authority MEDWAY

Map

No mapped location recorded.

Type and Period (1)

Full Description

The earthwork remains of a small oval mound measuring 15m x 16m, located at TQ 7209 7750. This is probably an example of a 19th century or earlier stock refuge mound constructed on low-lying pasture within the marshlands of the Hoo Peninsula and the margins of the Thames Estuary. These mounds have been referred to and identified in contemporary writings (Spurrell, 1885).This mound is one of four located in a single former field at the southern end of which a 19th century sheepfold has been noted on 1st, 2nd and 3rd edition Ordnance Survey 1:2500 scale maps.
The mounds were mapped from RAF 1952 aerial photographs as part of the English Heritage: Hoo Peninsula Landscape Project. Since being photographed in 1952 this mound has been destroyed through clay quarrying for the local cement industry. (1-2)


<1> 1951, NMR RAF/540/458 4007 17-APR-1951 (Photograph). SKE58844.

<2> Spurrell, F. C. J., 1885, Early sites and embankments on the margins of the Thames estuary. (Article in serial). SWX7560.

Sources/Archives (2)

  • <1> Photograph: 1951. NMR RAF/540/458 4007 17-APR-1951. NMR RAF/540/458 4007 17-APR-1951.
  • <2> Article in serial: Spurrell, F. C. J.. 1885. Early sites and embankments on the margins of the Thames estuary.. 42, pages 269-302.

Finds (0)

Protected Status/Designation

  • None recorded

Related Monuments/Buildings (0)

Related Events/Activities (1)

  • Non-Intrusive Event: English Heritage: Hoo Peninsula Landscape Project NMP (EKE20812)

Record last edited

Mar 9 2026 3:30PM